ReUse's Online Shop is Now Under Construction - Stay Tuned!

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black
If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black

Regular price
$3.00
Sale price
$3.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.
We have 1 in stock.

Fiction. Paperback.

FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD

NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY.

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves. 

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Robin Black's Life Drawing.

Look for the If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This discussion guide inside.

Praise for If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This

“I want to shout about how just when you thought no one could write a story with any tinge of freshness let alone originality about childhood. . . about marriage . . . about old age, Black has done it. . . . Black delivers real emotion, the kind that gives you pause. . . . Will Robin Black win [the Pen/Hemingway Prize] for this book? If I were a judge, she would.”—Alan Cheuse, Chicago Tribune 

“Pitch-perfect . . . so deft, so understated, and so compelling that you have to slow down to savor each vignette. . . . Fans of Mary Gaitskill, Amy Bloom, and Miranda July will feel like they’ve found gold in a river when they discover Robin Black. . . . [A] writer to watch.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“Each story reads like a mini-novel . . . worlds are contained in a single page. And the writing . . . oh, the writing . . . There’s no narrative cohesion, no point.  Rather, If I Loved You is a ‘Fantastic Voyage’ into the bloodstream of the human species. . . . Maybe it’s midlife maturity, maybe it’s raw talent, but If I Loved You leaves you longing for more."San Francisco Chronicle

“Incisive . . . peopled with characters so fully imagined you’ll feel they’re in the room.”People

"Exquisitely distilled tales of loss and reckoning . . . [Black] evokes a Sparkian blend of skepticism and grace."Vogue